NCSPA Board Names New Leadership

NCSPA Board Names New Leadership

On January 13, 2017, the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association elected new officers and executive committee members for the board of directors. John Fleming of Scotland Neck, N.C. was elected president of the Association. “I am excited to serve the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association as its president,” commented Fleming. “I look forward to helping North Carolina soybean growers increase their yields and profits by leveraging the agronomic research conducted through the checkoff, increasing the effectiveness of the organization’s advocacy work and strengthening the association overall.”

Also that day, Jeff Tyson of Nashville, N.C. was elected vice president and David Heath of Dover, N.C. was elected secretary of the Association. Former president, Jeff Peed of Aurora, N.C., was transitioned into the role of treasurer.  The board elected four additional directors to the executive committee as follows in order of seat: Isaac Boerema, of Pantego, N.C.; Michael McPherson of Mebane, N.C.; Chris Naylor of Clinton, N.C.; Ben Moses of Conway N.C.

In December, three soybean farmer leaders were appointed to national seats as representatives of the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association. Jimmy Thomas of Timberlake, N.C., was selected by the board of directors to serve on the American Soybean Associations Board of Directors. Derek Potter of Grantsboro, N.C., was appointed by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack to the United Soybean Board.  Secretary Vilsack also re-appointed Jacob Parker of Columbia, N.C., to his third term.

On January 12, 2017, during the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association 50th Annual Meeting, N.C. soybean producers elected Brett Medlin of Indian Trail, N.C. to serve on the board of directors representing District 18, which consist of Gaston, Mecklenburg, and Union counties. During the Annual Meeting, N.C. soybean producers also re-elected the following currently serving directors for their second term: Jessica Burgess of Eure, N.C., representing Pasquotank county.; Elbert Dixon of Maury, N.C., representing Greene, Lenoir, Wayne and Wilson counties; Gary Hendrix of Raeford, N.C. representing Hoke, Scotland and Robeson counties; Ben Moses of Conway, N.C., representing Edgecombe, Halifax and Nash counties; Chris Naylor of Clinton, N.C., representing Sampson county; Cody Paul of Bayboro, N.C., representing Carteret, Craven, Jones, Onslow and Pamlico counties; and Craig Seaman of Manson, N.C., representing Franklin, Vance, Wake and Warren counties.

Directors are eligible to serve two consecutive, three-year terms and are responsible for overseeing the research, marketing and communications work of the association, as well as the association’s advocacy work on behalf of soybean farmers.

Photos of all officers, executive committee members, and chairs can be found below.

John Fleming
Scotland Neck, N.C.

Jeff Tyson
Vice President
Nashville, N.C.

David Heath
Dover, N.C.

Jeff Peed
Aurora, N.C.

Jacob Parker
USB Director
Columbia, N.C.

Derek Potter
USB Director
Grantsboro, N.C.

Jimmy Thomas
ASA Director
Timberlake, N.C.

Isaac Boerema
Executive Committee
Pantego, N.C.

Michael McPherson
Executive Committee
Mebane, N.C.

Chris Naylor
Executive Committee
Clinton, N.C.

Ben Moses
Executive Committee
Conway, N.C.

Sydney Edwards Dunn
NC Soy-PAC Chair
Edenton, N.C.



Comments are closed.

Sign Up for Updates