Derek Potter of Pamlico Cty. Appointed to Serve on United Soybean Board

Derek Potter of Pamlico Cty. Appointed to Serve on United Soybean Board

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue recently announced the appointment of 16 members to serve on the United Soybean Board, including Grantsboro, N.C. farmer Derek Potter. Potter has served on the United Soybean Board for the past two years, filling the seat vacated by Morris Shambley who retired.

Other producers appointed to serve three-year terms include:

  • Arkansas – Jim Carroll III, Brinkley, Ark.
  • Georgia – Walter L. Godwin, Pelham, Ga.
  • Illinois – Lynn Rohrscheib, Fairmount, Ill.
  • Indiana – Mark Alan Seib, Poseyville, Ind.
  • Iowa – April Hemmes, Hampton, Iowa
  • Kentucky – Brent Gatton, Bremen, Ky.
  • Louisiana – Garrett Marsh, Tallulah, La.
  • Minnesota – Rochelle Krusemark, Sherburn, Minn.
  • Missouri – Patrick Hobbs, Dudley, Mo.
  • Nebraska – Tony Johanson, Oakland, Neb.
  • North Dakota – Jay Myers, Colfax, N.D.
  • Ohio – Jeff Magyar, Orwell, Ohio
  • Pennsylvania – Andrew J. Fabin, Homer City, Pa.
  • South Dakota – David Iverson, Astoria, S.D.
  • Virginia – Robert W. White Jr., Virginia Beach, Va.

“I truly appreciate the time and expertise these individuals have agreed to give guiding the United Soybean Board,” said Perdue. “Their work is especially important as we work to improve international opportunities for American farmers and ranchers. Together we will help them thrive by increasing domestic and international demand for the nearly 90 million acres of soybeans produced by U.S. farmers.”

The board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Information Act and is composed of 73 members representing 29 states and Eastern and Western regions. Members must be soybean producers nominated by a qualified state soybean board.

Thanks to Derek for his service on the board and representation of North Carolina soybean growers!


Comments are closed.

Sign Up for Updates